Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Mixed Race, Pretty Face?

with 8 comments

There was an experiment done by Gillian Rhodes in which participants were shown pictures of Asians, whites, and “Eurasians” of mixed race (half Asian/half white) and were told to rate the beauty of the people. Most people rated the mixed individuals as being more beautiful, regardless of their own race (There were Caucasian and Japanese participants.). I thought this was interesting and saw parallels to pop culture and society in general. I have personally noticed that most of my multi-racial friends are quite stunning and I know many who agree. Hollywood partially glamorizes it (Keanu Reeves and Devon Aoki are part Asian and both very attractive), but many find that those of mixed races tend to be attractive. Researchers think it has to do with the fact that mixed people have a wider “gene pool;” they have better reproductive success and are even healthier than unmixed individuals. Thoughts?

http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200512/mixed-race-pretty-face

Written by sgaviria

November 21, 2009 at 1:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve paid attention to this topic for a while. I’m into the whole “celebrity” thing and, in my opinion, I find that children who are racially mixed behold features/characteristics that are stunning and exotic. Of course celebrities are going to be shed a different light than the average individual, but even for those who are not celebrities and are “mixed,” I still find them to be unique in a positive way. I wonder what prejudices and judgments they face going through life. But, as we know it, life isn’t solely based on looks, otherwise color or ethnicity wouldn’t play such a large role among society.

    jubol

    November 21, 2009 at 2:20 am

  2. I can’t even lie, i do find those of mixed races beautiful, but to say they are the most, can be pushing it sometimes. I am mixed and don’t think i look any better than someone of full race.

    bmax2816

    November 21, 2009 at 6:09 pm

  3. I think this topic is very interesting. I find that most people agree that mixed people tend to be very attractive. However, I fear we exoticize them which in itself is placing a stereotype.

    elfrat

    November 21, 2009 at 8:57 pm

  4. I think that our standard of beauty in United States has shifted to the exotic look. The media has implied those mixed races are more exotic in appearance, hence they are considered more beautiful. In my opinion this all seems very subjective.

    icet0696

    November 21, 2009 at 11:59 pm

  5. I agree that the media has shifted their definition of beauty so which is why people are now believing that mixed people are “more” beautiful than others.

    3graffiti

    November 22, 2009 at 12:31 am

  6. I agree with the researchers that mixed race people have a larger gene pool and are more likely to successfully reproduce. Below all the social behaviors and interactions, we are genetic and it has always been, for any species, that the crossbred are most successful to reproduce and live on.

    al260513

    November 22, 2009 at 1:00 am

  7. I thought this was very interesting. In my opinion, I also think mixed people have the beautiful features, which further perplexes me on a relative issue. Isn’t it true that the pretty people are accepted in society? So being that people of mixed backgrounds are considered attractive, why are interracial marriages frowned upon in fear of having mixed children?

    aunanan7

    November 22, 2009 at 1:20 am

    • This is a very good and interesting point. How can a society which praises the beauty of mixed raced individuals look down upon interracial couples when the the result of such a relationship yields a mixed race child? It seems hypocritical to me and I would like to see some research done on a topic like this.

      justinjayjones

      November 27, 2009 at 5:13 am


Leave a Reply

