Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Can you tell who is/isn’t white or (minus physical appearance)??

with 7 comments

http://www.understandingrace.org/lived/who_is/index.html

I found this survey on a website put together by the American Anthropological Association. The survey lists different ethnicities and nationalities and asks the surveyor to click whether they think the person falls under the white or non-white category. I took the survey and it is harder than one would think. We tend to only focus on the color of peoples skin and as a society we type-cast people based on physical appearance. We should really get to know someone before we make any judgments.

Written by rhenf1989

November 20, 2009 at 2:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I took the survey and yes it was a little hard to try to categorize whole countries as being white or not. I think just about every country has natives who are white and nonwhite.

    raquelfreytes

    November 20, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  2. I agree, it is difficult to put people in tidy little boxes, but I am put of by the idea given in the main portion of this blog that implies that if you are describing someone by their skin tone than you must be passing judgment on them.

    bsmail

    November 20, 2009 at 7:06 pm

  3. This survey/test was not exactly what I expected. While I agree that there are no right or wrong answers, I thought that the website would provide more background information for why people classify groups the way majority of them do. The resulting opinions that people had were interesting, but I thought that there would be more of a scientific approach to this test. Then again, I guess science and sociology/anthropology don’t always mix well.

    jamesrobertson1

    November 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  4. This is an interesting study. I enjoyed looking at the statistics after taking the questionnaire myself. This reminded me of the Latinization of America that we have discussed in class. I definitely think it’s a plausible hypothesis to think that in the future, the groups that are classified as honorary whites will serve as a buffer to keep the white privilege status quo.

    sranson08

    November 20, 2009 at 10:31 pm

  5. It’s pretty much impossible to lump all races into white or not white because many have broad spectrums. My answers to the survey corresponded to what the majority answered EXCEPT when it came to Cubans, which is interesting because I’m Cuban! I answered that Cubans are white whereas 82.2% of surveyers chose not-white and yes I’m sure my ethnicity had everything to do with my answer as I consider myself both white and Cuban.

    sgaviria

    November 21, 2009 at 1:29 am

  6. This survey bring up a good point about race and physical appearance. The survey is skewed based on how you would classify “honorary whites.” Remember that color of skin is very subjective and should not be grouped with race. The United States Census facing this same dilemma when trying to categorize race and color.

    icet0696

    November 22, 2009 at 12:00 am

  7. This survey was quite interesting, in that it shows how the majority of people group each race based on typical characteristics associated with white or non-white. Very superficial.

    aunanan7

    November 22, 2009 at 2:23 am


Leave a Reply

