Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Black cop

with 2 comments

The other night I received a call from a friend of mine that was at a house one block away.  I was in the middle of cleaning and she asked me to stop by and say hello.  I walked over in my “rags” (work-out clothes to be specific) and everyone was dressed to the nine.  There were probably around 20 people, and in the midst of mingling I turned around and noticed a police officer.  I didn’t bring my ID because I was clearly not going out, I was only there to socialize before the rest of the crowd was heading out to the clubs.

Soon after, the police officer started making rounds asking for people’s ID.  Since I was not planning on going out, I did not bring my ID and walked up to the officer and asked him if I could home come and continue cleaning, clearly due to my attire it was obvious I had not planned on going out.  He was blocking the door and stated “I will let you leave when I feel like it.”  I respected authority and said “alright, sorry sir.”  I walked back to my circle of friends and restated what he had told me.  One of my friends, who happened to be black, said “oh he’s black, if I go up and talk to him everything will be fine.”  She then proceeded to walk up and talk to him, only for her to be shut down.  She then walked back to us and seemed beyond appalled at the fact that he denied her.

I couldn’t help but think about the situation if the roles were reversed.  If I (being white) was at a majority black party, and a police officer showed up who was white, would he be more lenient with me since we both had the same race in common?

Written by jubol

November 20, 2009 at 5:38 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is kind of a tough situation but I do believe that race in some situations does play a role in the leniency handed out by police officers. I think this situation has gotten a lot better over the years but it is still a problem in some areas. Especially in lower income areas or inner cities.

    jturner36

    November 20, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  2. Hmm if I were in your situation I probably would have wondered the same thing! It’s interesting that your black friend automatically assumed that she could get you out of the situation just because of her race. That pretty much implies that she thought the cop would bend the rules only for blacks, a minor form of reverse-discrimination.
    If you were at a predominantly black party and there was a white cop, I would think that yeah he might be more lenient on you. He’d probably also wonder why you were there in the first place.

    sgaviria

    November 21, 2009 at 1:14 am


Leave a Reply

