Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Is The Princess and the Frog Sterotypical???

with 6 comments

So as you might already know (considering there was a previous post about the same subject) there is a Disney movie coming out called the Princess and the Frog and the main character(the princess) is black. It is the first Disney movie that is centered around a black character.

I was talking to someone(who is black) and he told me that he thinks it’s sad that the first Disney movie centered around a black character is so stereotypical. I asked stereotypical of who and when he said black people I asked him to clarify. He said it’s stereotypical because it involves Vodou and it’s set in New Orleans. I didn’t push the subject anyther further but it kind of disturbed me. What is so stereotypical about??? Vodou? That’s not even right because I’ve never heard the stereotype that black people do vodou……

Written by laika305

November 19, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t heard that either- I didn’t think that was stereotypical of black people. I think it is good that Disney is including all racial backgrounds in its movies.

    rhenf1989

    November 20, 2009 at 2:00 am

  2. I hardly think this film is stereotypical based on trailers. I plan on watching the film because I am love Disney and animated movies so I can’t say anything yet. I don’t think anyone should be so quick to judge the film without having first seen it in its entirety. I will be watching this with my sociological lenses so I’ll let you know.

    mdjust07

    November 20, 2009 at 2:13 am

  3. I think this ia a good thing for disney because i think it is adding some diversity to the duisney films. Soi I do not find it as a sterotype because most disney movies have white prince and princesses

    domsangs

    November 20, 2009 at 6:08 pm

  4. While it is good that Disney is trying to incorporate a black princess, I too find it very stereotypical. Why does the first black princess have to be from New Orleans, living in a swamp and practicing voodoo? Why couldn’t the first black princess be like all the others?
    I’ll have to see the film but I have to agree with your friend. The first black princess is based on stereotypes.

    elfrat

    November 21, 2009 at 9:01 pm

  5. I don’t find this to be stereotypical at all. I think disney was simply trying to place the movie of a black princess in a setting which fit the character. To me it seems they simply chose a time period in which having a princess in the first place would be acceptable and New Orleans a few centuries ago fits that description. If they had set the movie in Africa with the main character being a Zulu princess would you call that racist? Just because other princesses were set in European countries and happened to be white wasn’t because Disney was racist, it was because historically, European royalty was white.

    justinjayjones

    November 27, 2009 at 5:10 am

  6. I dont believe its so much stereotypical. They just placed the princess where she’d fit, although that questions the idea that they perhaps dont believe a black princess could be place in europe. But i like it new orleans, it shows the beautiful city and its elegace. however what i would like to point out is although i like how this princess has spunk and attitude, she is not prim and proper like the other white princesses. they made her character in some scences overly stuck up and attitude-ish.

    kherbert09

    November 29, 2009 at 12:32 am


Leave a Reply

