Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“I know it’s ghetto but…….”

with 2 comments

So I was at work today and my co-worker was talking to a friend that had came in. She was telling her friend how she’s not going to get acrylics (fake nails) anymore. Some of the nails broke and others chipped. So if you were to look at her hands, some fingers had her own nail, some had a chipped fake nail and others a fake nail in relatively good condition. This generally happens because its hard to take of these acrylic nails off and can even be painful. But then she said “I know it’s ghetto but I’m not going to try and take them off because it hurts.” And I thought to myself that’s ghetto? Are women who live in the ghetto walking around with broken and chipped fake nails? Then ig to me to thinking about what we see as ghetto. Ghetto is an area in which people live. Why then do call any and everything we do that just isn’t quite right ghetto? “I’m wearing two different socks; I know it’s ghetto, but whatever.” Why do we descridbe someone as being ghetto? It just cracks me up how we come up with these crazy things to call people.

Written by laika305

November 19, 2009 at 10:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think nowadays anything that doesn’t seem “common” to people is considered “ghetto” which I have no clue what that means anymore. When I was growing ghetto was when you had to use pliers to turn the television or used aluminum foil for antenna; that was ghetto. I guess anything falls into the category of being ghetto these days

    mdjust07

    November 20, 2009 at 2:19 am

  2. People use this word far more frequently now. It has lost its meaning and now, is used to describe anything that is haphazard or associated with being less than desirable. Although I am not black, I see this word to be offensive and should therefore, one needs to reconsider its true meaning before using it.

    carlyeg

    November 23, 2009 at 6:13 pm


Leave a Reply

