Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

DC Sniper

with 2 comments

I just recently heard that the DC sniper (John Allen Muhammad) who plotted the killings of 10 people in DC and areas surrounding it, received lethal injection this past Tuesday. I don’t know if many remember the dc sniper, but I was in Maryland at the time of these shootings so it was highlighted in the news constantly. I remember not being able to go out in gym class for a good week after a middle school boy was shot in this reign of terror. I remember everyone was surprised that it had been a black man who was behind these acts of terror. I even remember black comedians joking around saying they don’t claim him as black, due to his crazed acts. The weird thing about this incident was that the shooter remained unidentified throughout all the shootings. It was by chance that had gotten caught when he did. I remember everyone suspecting it was a white male with extreme psychological issues. It was almost guaranteed, by the way people talked, that the shooter was  white. I just found it interesting that we place blame and assume acts are done by a certain race before we even know the facts. I must say that it was a complete shock to me too that the shooter was black, so I guess I am guilty of going with the crowd on this one.

 

http://www.blacknews.com/news/silent_dc_sniper_mastermind_muhammad_executed101.shtml

Written by amims1

November 19, 2009 at 4:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is so very true. I can’t even count how many times I heard “That person must be white,” when referring to somethiung that an unidentified person did. But I can’t lie, I’ve done it too. I just think that culturally there are some things that people from certain groups generally don’t do because of the way they were brought up. However I absolutely do’t think it’s right to assume that this man wasn’t black. While a child not being spanked can be associated with most white people (in my opinion), a serial killer can’t be ssumed to not be black

    laika305

    November 19, 2009 at 7:14 pm

  2. […] DC Sniper « Perspectives on Race […]


Leave a Reply

