Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Big Butt=Black/Latina Girls

with one comment

So I am hanging out with my friends at the mall. We were shopping for Halloween costumes for a party we where heading to that night. My group of friends is a mixture of African American girls and Latina girls. So we were heading to the Spencer’s when these ignorant guys start hissing at us. Before we passed by them, one guy pointed at me and “tried” to whisper to his friend. It obviously wasn’t a whisper because I heard him say “she looks good but I don’t do white girls”. I have been told I can pass for “white” or “Latina”, they say it depends on how I am dressed or how I have my hair done. Then when we passes by, I heard the same guy say “she must mixed with hispanic cuz she got an a**”. I can understand that many cultures and distinct features like Chinese people have their eye’s & etc. I have seen many Caucasian girls with curvaceous features so why must it only be black/Latina girls can only have those features & why is it so important for most guys to have those features in their dream girls??

Written by lc8908

November 6, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think this is like anything else in society and it has to do with the media, especially the portrayal of women. If you look at all of the stereotypical “womanly figures” there are typically two extremes either tall and thin or curvy and “thick”. I think it just depends on eye of the beholder. Also, some people are just shallow.

    rhenf1989

    November 7, 2009 at 4:04 am


Leave a Reply

