Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Brandon Spikes Eye Gouge

with 3 comments

So I was talking to my dad on the phone and he asked if I had heard about Brandon Spikes and what happened at the Georgia game. I said I hadn’t and he told me about how Brandon Spikes gouged the eyes of a Georgia player after a play. I hopped on youtube to see if I could find the video and sure enough, it came right up.

Clearly, he did gouge the eyes of this guy, but what caught my eye more than the video was the comments underneath. At first I saw stuff like “UF = University of Felons” and as I continued to scroll down and look at more and more of the usual Florida beat down I noticed that the n-word started getting tossed around. I find it interesting that the “University of Felons” comment was made because it seems to me that this was made because Brandon Spikes is black thereby hinting to the belief that felon=black. The n-word is just inexcusable under any circumstance and it just amazed me how quickly the connection was made from an underhanded move by a football player to explaining the incident because of his skin color.

Video found at:

Written by sranson08

November 2, 2009 at 8:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I feel that Brandon Spikes was only wrong because he got caught. Twice earlier in the game his helmet was ripped off by a Bulldog. Players do this kind of stuff all the time in piles, especially fumbles. I have heard stories of much worse than just poking at an eye, no matter what the race of the player is. This game was very violent all around and emotions were high. However to call him a felon simply because he is black is outrageous, a white player would have done the same thing. Football transcends the racial barriers and the ignorant comments made on youtube simply because of anonymity shouldn’t be taken seriously.

    samhag

    November 4, 2009 at 5:36 pm

  2. I also watched the video of Spikes and wasn’t extremely surprised by the rough handling. Football players will be football players and I know that the game is meant to be played rough. However, I was shocked that they went as far as to say the “University of Felons” bit and the n-word! I know for a fact that it was because it was a black football player doing the action. Should he have gouged the guy’s eyes? No, but that is no excuse to use derogatory and racial slurs. It just goes to show that we still have a long road ahead if everyone wants to be seen and treated fairly

    amims1

    November 5, 2009 at 2:53 am

  3. After seeing this clip I also wan’t surprised by this. People get caught in the moment, especially those involved in sports such as college football. As said, above, I think he only got in trouble because he was caught. The response to his actions were over the top and unwarranted, but is in the same competitive spirit as the original incident itself.

    justinjayjones

    November 9, 2009 at 1:28 am


Leave a Reply

