Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Disneys latest movie “PRINCESS AND THE FROG”

with 4 comments

Disney has created the first black princess movie and the race card has been pulled up once again! congrats Disney you can never seem to get it right! but all jokes aside im going to have to applaud Disney for making this movie. I think this will be good for the young black kids who need some sort of disney character they can relate to. When I was young I loved Aladdin and I feel like the young white girls who loved cinderella so much can understand what this will do for the young black youth when watching this movie..Disney played a pretty big role for me growing up considering I watched tons of their movies and if they think theres anything truly racist in this movie I think they are looking into this WAY to much. Its just a kids movie and i think itll be great.

Written by dtrincado

November 1, 2009 at 12:46 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Agreed, I also grew up watching Disney movies (I personally love Belle from Beauty and the Beast), so I can see what a positive black protagonist would do for the self esteem of young black people; especially the young black girls out there looking for a role model.

    kmurph2688

    November 1, 2009 at 1:36 am

  2. Hopefully this will translate into other companies and Disney’s continued positive influence on racism especially in terms of toys such as Barbie and other toys that are mainly if not only offered in “white” versions.

    victorianelson

    November 2, 2009 at 3:11 pm

  3. I completely agree. People look into things such as this with way too much scrutiny. I feel as though people look for problems with in situations like this just for the purpose of being able to crying racism. I too see this movie as a great new guide for children growing up, but I think the protagonist’s race is receiving too much attention for the wrong reasons.

    justinjayjones

    November 9, 2009 at 1:30 am

  4. I agree. disney played a huge role for me growing up and i definitely idealized the princess characters Disney created. Im glad they are making an african american princess, its about time anyways.

    mzarandy1

    November 9, 2009 at 2:41 pm


Leave a Reply

