Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Did you ever wish you were born different from what you are?

with 2 comments

I am of Haitian descent and I am in Club Creole here at UF.  At the meeting this past Tuesday they did an activity called “Cross The Line”. Basically you crossed the line when a statement that was put up on the screen referred to you. One of them asked if anyone(despite their race or ethnicity) ever wished they were born into a different race or ethnicity. I thought the qustion was kind of silly at first thenn I realized there were a lot of reason to wish you were born into a different culture. There were many different answers. Some people said yes because Haitian parents are too strict, other said yes because being Haitian used to be like the worse thing someone could and some even said yes because blacks overall don’t have the same privileges as whites. I know we talked about the difference in privileges from whites to blacks before but I was wodering if it is so bad that someone would want to be white when they were born black??? I can’t relate because I love who I am and I have never wanted to be white or anything else other Haitian; maybe it’s because my family has always stressed that I need to be proud of who I am.

I just found the different friends amusing; especially some people who said that they never wanted to change their race but wish they had certain characteristics generally specific to certain races. For example my roommate wish she had long straight hair like a white person when she is black. And I also have a friend who is white, and she wishes she could afro her hair. LOL

Written by laika305

October 29, 2009 at 6:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve always been proud of being Cuban (I was born here, my parents in Cuba), so I can’t relate to people who wish they were born a different race, or ethnicity. Like your parents, mine have made sure I know where I came from and that I should be proud of who I am. It’s sad to think that there are people who are ashamed or feel like less, because of society’s view on certain races.

    erom13

    October 30, 2009 at 3:54 pm

  2. I have to honestly say, as an asian kid growing up, I did wish I was born white. growing up in Germany, where there is very little minority presence, being the only non-white person was definitely a problem for me. I would see everyone else around me and wonder why I didn’t look the same. Kids usually see what’s common and liked and wish they were in that position. Truthfully I feel a lot more comfortable when I go to visit family in Korea simply because I fit in an everyone wants to fit in with their surroundings. I think how and where you are raised greatly affects how you feel about your own race and how it relates to others.

    justinjayjones

    November 9, 2009 at 1:11 am


Leave a Reply

