Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Atlanta Airport

with one comment

I was flying to Minnesota this past Thursday evening and my connecting flight from Atlanta got canceled and I was forced to spend the night in the airport.  There was a handful of individuals spending the night at random gates in the terminal who were in the same situation as I was in.  I found a gate that had two individuals, an middle-aged one and a teenage boy, that I felt safe sleeping by.  As I walked up I set my belongings down and laid down across three stiff chairs to get some sleep.  Before I shut my eyes the middle-aged woman suggested for me to place my purse and computer underneath her bags so that nothing gets stolen.  I thanked her and appreciated her concern but asked her why she was worried about getting her belongings stolen?  She then said “Well they have been announcing all night that there have been reports of robberies going on,” she then lowered her voice, tilted her head down and said “…and also there’s a lot of those workers around here if you know what I mean.”  The only individuals that were working at the airport at this time in the middle of the night by our gate were all African-American.  They were not bothering this woman at all and I was curious what she would have said if all of the workers were white…or what she would have said if I was African-American…

Written by jubol

October 17, 2009 at 8:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Some could argue that it’s blatant racism. Others could likely argue that it’s Atlanta…

    seemenomore123

    October 26, 2009 at 5:55 am


Leave a Reply

