Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Who goes Where?

with 2 comments

This past week my friends and I were planning to go downtown and go to a different club we normally don’t go to. One of my friends jokingly mentioned us going to the Venue and then quickly commented on the bad things she has heard about that place. ” That place is filled with a bunch of locals who towards the end of the night get super drunk and start fights”, she then said it would be a different experience but one we may not want to repeat. Another suggestion that was said was going to 8 seconds, this club is where you would see people listening and dancing to country music. I noticed that the Venue was categorized as a bad place to go while 8 seconds sounded like it would be a different but safe place to go. If you ever been downtown you notice that the people that go to the Venue are mainly black, and the people that go to 8 seconds are usually white. Although most nightclubs may offer the same type of entertainment you do not see people from different backgrounds in the same location. I guess neighborhoods are not the only places where people segregate themselves but also the locations they go for entertainment?

Written by 3graffiti

October 16, 2009 at 5:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely agree with this statement. People do segregate themselves when it comes to entertainment. I am black and I’ve only been to a club once which was in Gainesville and that was because it was my roommate’s birthday. I will say though that I think clubs with predominately black people are sometimes violent. I can’t help but think that because of all the stories I have heard from other friends who go to clubs. Safety first.

    mdjust07

    October 16, 2009 at 6:10 pm

  2. I think it depends where you are. I’ve only been to two clubs, one here and one in Miami. I’d definitely agree that the one up here was didn’t get any darker than Hispanic, and even we made up very little of the population that night. But back home, I feel there was a bigger mix of races at the club. Maybe I just wasn’t paying much attention, though. Also, I think part of the reason 8 Seconds would seem safe has to do with the fact that they play country music. As clubbing goes, that type of music isn’t very popular, so you are more likely to have less people there, and the people who go probably have a very different view on “let’s go clubbing” than when going to a hip hop or house music type of club.

    erom13

    October 16, 2009 at 10:14 pm


Leave a Reply

