Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Hare Krishna at the UF Parade

with 4 comments

So I was the homecoming parade today with a couple of friends and about halfway through the krishna float was coming by. The people representing it were all dancing and playing music and they were dressed up in clothes that tie in with that culture. As soon as my friend saw them he said “what the hell is this shit?”. He would never say this to them openly, but just the terminology he used to ask who and what they’re doing threw me off. My other friends didn’t say anything, however I confronted him on the issue and why I thought what he said wasn’t right. Of course I will remain friends with him but it bothers me when people say blatantly racist things like that. I’m curious that if  you had a friend that said something along those lines against a certain culture or race, would you still remain good friends with them?

Written by derekjwood

October 16, 2009 at 9:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In answer to your question, I’d have to say “yes, but it causes an underlying feeling of being less close than before these comments are made.” I consider myself a moderate because I have both very conservative and very liberal political leanings, but my friends back home are all definitely conservatives. Because of this, there are some things that are left unsaid in order to preserve our friendships. When something is said, I tend to see different comments as worse than others. Some I’ll ignore, some I’ll give a look that says “watch what you say”, and some I call them out on because I can’t let it stand. An example of this last category would be gay rights. I’m heavily for it, they are definitely not, and they know that if they bring it up I won’t keep quiet about how I feel. So I would consider myself still close friends with them, but at the same time there is still the knowledge that there is a part of them I could never respect. I’m glad to hear you confronted him about it. Not doing so allows others to keep thinking in ways that is not helpful to society’s search for acceptance of all people. Every little bit counts.

    erom13

    October 16, 2009 at 10:04 pm

  2. I have to agree wih erom13. I have a number of friends with conflicting veiws. We avoid discussions that may upset each other but sometimes a comment slips. And if it’s a racial comment, I usually feel disappointed at their ignorance. However, I definately think if a friend says something racist, we should all point it out. I know if a friend expresses disapproval in something I say, it makes me reconsider my words. Our behavior reflects what we can get away with from our friends and family.

    elfrat

    October 17, 2009 at 8:55 pm

  3. I have many friends that makes jokes about all races because we are all different races but we all are still good friends. Its only if someone gets offended then the jokes stop.

    joshjfletch89

    October 18, 2009 at 12:46 am

  4. I agree with joshjfletch89 its the same thing with my friends we make jokes about race all the time. but it should only stop if it offends someone.

    domsangs

    October 18, 2009 at 3:31 am


Leave a Reply

