Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Stereotypical Korean

with 3 comments

A few nights ago I went with a friend (who was white) to Library West to get some studying done before they closed. We were seated on the third floor at the computer desks where there are rows of computers facing each other separated by a small divider. Across from us on the other side of the divider were two white students, a guy and a girl, who were talking loudly about whatever they were studying.

At some point near closing time, my friend and I overheard the girl across from us say: “I don’t trust Koreans, they’ll screw you fast….”

Being Korean myself, I found this insulting and offensive that something like this would be said in such a close proximity to myself or anywhere for that matter. However I’ve learned from dealing with situations like this that acting on anger or rash decisions is usually a bad idea.

Before I could even compose my thoughts, my friend  leaned over towards me and whispered loudly so that the two across from us could hear: “So when are you going back to visit Korea?” to which I replied: “Actually next week, I’m going to go visit family.” There was silence across the divider after that.

I think a lot of times we get caught up in racism that when it affects us, we tend to over react and fail to see how the best way that one can fight racism is to use discretion and intellect rather than reflecting angry words.


Written by justinjayjones

October 14, 2009 at 2:29 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Those people were either referring to North Korea (which political science students do often like I did when I took Korean politics) or they were just ignorant jerks. I know what it feels like though when someone says something about your culture and you just want to lash out against these people and tell them like it is.

    zsayed

    October 14, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    • Sorry post above was not typing properly.
      Then again you are totally right in your assessment that creating a scene can be more trouble than it’s worth. There is no need, especially in a place like a library, to be starting an argument with someone. As for your friend, I think they made the best out of a bad situation.

      zsayed

      October 14, 2009 at 11:44 pm

  2. If you ever encounter a similar situation you should stand up and confront the person. Don’t let them think that it is okay to discriminate against a race. If you don’t then the person would probably think they could just get away with it.

    icet0696

    October 16, 2009 at 2:19 pm


Leave a Reply

