Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“Transformers” accused of racism.

with 6 comments

The film Transformers was accused of being racist because of their lack of African American actors.  Tyrese Gibson was the main African American actor but was only in the film for 20 mins.  They did use 2 robots that were portrayed as black.  These robots used streets slang and admitted to not being able to read.  To top it off one of the robots had a gold tooth.  There were many questions about the film but the director Michael Bay said that they just hired the actors and they kind of improv’ed the script during recording.  Is this a sign of racism in Hollywood or is this an actual issue?  I feel like there were no bad intentions but everything is looked at under a microscope.

Written by jturner36

October 10, 2009 at 2:24 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s funny you posted this, I’m actually doing my homework assignment on the first Transfomers movie. Just from what I gathered, I did see a few racially charged elements to the film, not only directed at blacks, but Hispanics as well. There are two Hispanic characters in the first film (both with small roles) but they are portrayed as reluctant to speak English and are constantly being reprimanded when speaking Spanish. This perpetuates the myth that Hispanics are unwilling to learn and speak English.

    sranson08

    October 10, 2009 at 8:04 pm

  2. This being one of my favorite movies, I had never looked at it in this light, but now that both of you mention it, I totally see how this can be an issue. Be it with the lack of black actors or the reprimands for speaking Spanish. I do know that within the military, foreign languages are looked down upon unless you are overseas and on your own time. Not that that makes this critique of the movie alright, but I think that the writers were going for a sense of comedy as opposed to a slap in the face along racial lines. Of course, because this is one of my favorite movies, I could be biased.

    jamesrobertson1

    October 10, 2009 at 9:31 pm

  3. After watching Transformers 1 and 2, I do not think there were any racial intentions when the creators made the film. Despite the two robots in the films being portrayed through African American stereotypes, Tyrese Gibson’s character was a successful U.S. Air Force Combat Controller.

    joshjfletch89

    October 11, 2009 at 12:39 am

  4. When I saw this over the summer the first thing one of my friends said when leaving the theater was, “Did anyone find the two black robots kinda racist?” I immediately asked why he thought those robots were black…I mean, do we have to assume Optimus Prime is white? I think it’s in the eye of the beholder. We can assume those robots were meant to be black but really couldn’t they have been white? I think the real question is…do transformers belong to any earthly race?

    elfrat

    October 11, 2009 at 2:52 am

  5. It sounds racist to me. The two transformers that seem ghetto are assumed to Black? that seems racist and continues the trend that assumes all Blacks are from the ghetto and can not read.

    al260513

    October 11, 2009 at 9:34 pm

  6. Oh wow…it sounds racist to me. The car can’t read. Not all black people are from the ghetto and can’t read

    mdjust07

    October 12, 2009 at 12:51 pm


Leave a Reply

