Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Blog

with 2 comments

The other day i came home to my apartment with a friend. When we got out of the car there were two black guys standing near my car. i waved and said hello, my friend seemed a little uncomfortable. when we got up stairs she asked how i could just say hi to anyone without knowing them especially people who looked dangerous. I told her “those dangerous” people were my neighbors so i didnt just hi to anyone rather i knew them. But what really shocked me was why did these people near my car look dangerous? Would she have had the same feelings if there were a couple of white kids?? I was really upset about this and ive just been thinking about this a lot. I think my friend was completely out of line and rude.

Written by mzarandy1

October 5, 2009 at 4:52 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This seems like a common stereotype and I feel it keeps our society from being as strong as it could be. People are afraid to just talk to a fellow human because we are always in a constant state of fear, which I believe is mostly due to the media. We hear about a new outbreak or terrorist threat everyday, its almost impossible to remain fearless. But the fact that this person was scared to say hello is silly.

    samhag

    October 5, 2009 at 4:33 pm

  2. i agree. it’s strange how even today people jump to conclusions about people and immediately default to popular stereotypes. i would think that in today’s society one would assume everyone unfamiliar to them to be friendly, as opposed to dangerous.

    justinjayjones

    October 5, 2009 at 7:18 pm


Leave a Reply

