Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Minorities we have yet to discuss

with 4 comments

This weekend Invisible Children was tabling at the Gainesville Pride Festival downtown. As the vice president, I was required to attend the festival and participate in the tabling. Considering myself pretty progressive, I figured that this would be a pretty interesting thing to attend considering I’ve never been to a pride festival before. As a heterosexual male, I had no idea what to expect as I pulled up to the festival. What I found was something that was very eye opening to me. Everybody that was there had a great time and it was a lot of fun to be a part of something like that. I’ve always been a big supporter of gay rights, and attending this made me an even bigger supporter. We have yet to discuss minorities in this class that aren’t racial minorities, but I feel like these other minorities deserve our attention just as much.

Written by dannyramos4

October 4, 2009 at 7:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree. I’m glad we touched on femisnism a bit and I hope we come to discuss other minorities including homosexuals, bisexuals, transsexuals etc. as well as religious minorities. Given the diversity of the US, there’s a lot that people disciminate on besides just race including sexual orientation, gender, and economic status.

    sgaviria

    October 5, 2009 at 12:14 am

  2. If we think racism is going to take forever to be fixed, homophobia will take 3X that long.

    seemenomore123

    October 5, 2009 at 3:58 am

  3. i agree with the fact that if racism is still very much alive within our culture today, homophobia will not be socially accepted for a very long time! However, that doesnt mean i dont agree with you. I dont think sexual preference defines a person and there shouldnt be any reason to discriminate just because of their sexual identity.

    mzarandy1

    October 5, 2009 at 5:13 am

  4. i agree that this type of ‘racism’ is also very important in our society and is quite often looked over. i also agree heavily with mzarady1’s statement that sexual preference doesn’t define a person as an individual. although i hope for our society it doesnt take as long as stated above.

    justinjayjones

    October 5, 2009 at 2:14 pm


Leave a Reply

