Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Where’s the Motivation?

with 2 comments

One thing from the readings that we have been doing in class that has had an impact with me is how to integrate where races live.  The recurring theme that came up during class discussion was focused on economics, and how we live in a capitalistic society where the major motivator is money.  So, with that being said, I find it hard to believe that anyone would want to move down the socioeconomic ladder.  I think of myself, being from a white, middle-class family, and while my ideals dictate that I would be open to the idea of moving to a more diverse area, the simple fact is that it would still scare the crap out of me.  Not to mention, other than the obvious diversity answer, what would be my motivation to do so.  Granted that the author explained that these types of things need to occur in order for racism to ever disappear, I ask in a society such as ours currently, where’s the motivation to do so?

Written by jamesrobertson1

October 3, 2009 at 3:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coming from a white, middle-class background as well, I agree that when I read about moving into a neighborhood that had a diverse racial population, I thought the same thing. I just don’t see enough white progressives willing to do this in order to create real change. I can’t really see a great solution to pump the brakes on the institutional and systemic racism that is plaguing this country.

    sranson08

    October 3, 2009 at 7:32 pm

  2. im not completely sure the motivation should be to move down socio-economically, but rather for others to move up. myself being from a mixed-race lower class backround, i dont think that the issue is about motivation to move up or down the socio-economic ladder, that should already be there (to move up, of course), but rather motivation to integrate racially. But, in today’s society which prides itself on integration, should there be any motivation at all? shouldnt it be there naturally if that is the case?

    justinjayjones

    October 5, 2009 at 7:27 pm


Leave a Reply

