Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Boom Bye Bye

with one comment

So while searching for an article to write about this week, I remembered this Undo2 website that I used to go to, that is now an Equality Florida Blog. The newest article on the website is about this song “Boom Bye Bye” by this guy named Buju Banton. I’ve never about him or this song, and I’m glad it had never come to my ears before. The song, though I can barely understand the written lyrics, is about the murdering of gays. I guess this song came out a long time ago, so the promoter is trying to pass it off as a thing of the past, no longer important. Even if the proof that he had song it in 2006 wasn’t true, I still think he should be held accountable for that song and its message. He was forced to cancel his U.S. tour, which I think was the right thing to do. The only way to stop violence against gays and those different in other ways from the majority is to hit them where it hurts (figuratively), which in this case is by not allowing to perform and get profit from it. People have to be held responsible for their words and actions, and I think this is a good example of that being done. Here is the article and the lyrics…

http://eqfl.blogspot.com/2009/09/buju-bantons-managers-lie-to-media.html

http://www.lyricskeeper.com/banton_buju-lyrics/209507-boom_bye_bye-lyrics.htm

Written by erom13

September 30, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I completely agree with you. It brings me back to the freedom of speech talk we had in class. You have the freedom to say what you want, but the freedom to speak of murdering gays is just deplorable. The freedom to speak of murdering anyone should not be allowed and he got exactly what he deserved.

    Antoinette Lester

    October 4, 2009 at 1:24 pm


Leave a Reply

