Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Tyra Banks interviews very racially confused woman

with 5 comments

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xM2_w-m_UFs&feature=related

This segment from the Tyra Banks show is very disturbing. The young woman speaking to Tyra is biracial- black and white and she says that she only claims white. She also carries a rebel flag and has one in her car. I think the fact that she doesnt care what people think is ok but she goes to extremes. She is not against skin bleaching and in fact she “wants to be lighter like her brother”. I just wish that someday everyone can accept themselves for who they are and not think they aren’t “good enough”.

I also agree with Tyra when she said that people tend to make assumptions and categorize others based solely on outer appearance. There are so many different “mixes” and racial classifications. We should be more focused on the character and morals of people we come in contact with and not their physical features.

Written by rhenf1989

September 26, 2009 at 3:04 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW…I watched it and it was really crazy to see what some of those people thought! The first girl interviewed wants to be white because she believes whites are “a higher being”!?…to the extent that she wears KKK masks and sees it as a joke?!
    In the show, overall there were a lot of ties to our discussions in class, especially those that centered around the idea that many darker people want to be lighter because they believe that they will be more accepted. Tyra did a great thing that show and I hope a lot of people saw it!

    sgaviria

    September 26, 2009 at 6:19 am

  2. This is absolutely disturbing. I have never seen anything like that in my life. For her to say that whites are a “higher being” when she herself is half black is ludicrous. I would like to hear what her black parent has to say about all of this! And about the Confederate flag, I really believe that some people don’t see it as a racially charged symbol of hate. There are some people from the South who just support it because they are proud to be Southerners and it represents the culture of their region. Of course there are plenty of people who do use it as a symbol of hatred towards black people and I think that is the case with this confused young girl. No one, ever, should joke about the KKK like she did.

    sranson08

    September 26, 2009 at 7:36 pm

  3. I would also agree with Tyras’ comment on people having certain assumptions of other people based on their appearance. I have a friend that is biracial and she is always being approached by Hispanics and talked to in Spanish. After she tells them that she cannot speak the language some of them think that she may be lying and hiding her ethnicity when in reality she is not. They blame her for being rude and ashamed of her culture when it really is not her fault.

    3graffiti

    September 26, 2009 at 11:43 pm

  4. While this girl is absolutely insane, I do think she is right in not seeing a color in the mirror and just seeing herself.

    seemenomore123

    September 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

  5. I agree with 3graffiti’s view on this issue, and know what it is like to be viewed as something differently than what I really am: hispanic, white, and african-american. I look white because I have blue eyes and pale skin unless it’s summertime but I have very curly hair that is part of my African-American heritage, and am fluent in both English and Spanish. People never believe me when I tell them that I’m hispanic, and I am almost always forced to speak the language and give them a demonstration before they are satisfied. This irks me to no end, as I do not think I should have to prove myself- I am what I am, and I’m proud of it.

    alinak88

    September 27, 2009 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

