Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Random Guy Wondering the Parking….

with 3 comments

I live in a neighborhood which has really nice houses and some lower income housing bordering the neighborhood and a few lower income houses mixed into the neighborhood. The other night it was late at night and a friend stopped by and mentioned that there was an African American guy randomly wandering around my parking lot (I live in a small complex bordered by some of the lower income housing apartments/houses). And mentioned making sure to keep an eye out. I didn’t think too much of it at the time, and even said I wasn’t worried because nothing overally sketchy has ever happened directly to me in my area. However a few days later I was thinking about it and was pondering the comment of my friend. I was also thinking would he have said the same thing if there was a random white guy wandering my parking lot late at night?? Sadly I do not think he would have if that was the case. What is your response to this….?

Written by mhenderson108

September 26, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Actually something similar happened to me. I also live in an area surrounded by situated near a low-income neighborhood and this week I saw a black man just standing around the entrance to my complex. I just assumed he was waiting for someone to pick him up. But I realized that probably many people who would see him would think he was up to no good. I just thought how horrible it must be to live knowing that most strangers automatically assume the worst about you just because of the color of your skin.

    larosa29

    September 26, 2009 at 8:38 pm

  2. I live under the same circumstances. To me, it doesn’t matter if there a guy that is white or black, if they are lingering in a parking lot late at night-I’m going to be cautious. I am not more apprehensive because of someone’s skin tone.

    jubol

    September 26, 2009 at 9:31 pm

  3. I live in the same circumstances. For me i see no problem for a person to walk through the neighborhood unless they seem really sketchy, in which i judge everyone based on what it seems to be their intentions..

    bmax2816

    September 26, 2009 at 11:25 pm


Leave a Reply

