Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“Only Black people listen to Rap”

with 7 comments

This past week I visited a friend at her apartment and over heard her room mate complaining about the neighbors that lived upstairs.  My friends room mate said that they were being extremely loud and cannot study with all that noise that was going on upstairs. My friend recommended that she should go talk to them in a polite manner and maybe they will quiet down a bit. Her room mate then responded that she did not want to go alone because she is sure they are black people because all she hears is rap music being played. She also said that she thinks they(referring to her black neighbors) will be rude no matter how polite she tries to be. After I  heard that comment come out of her mouth I opened my mouth in shock of what she had said. Why did she automatically assume they were black people  just because of the rap music? I know people of other races that prefer rap over any other type of music. Why are people so quick to label someone or a group of people without even getting the chance to know them? Stereotypes are not always true yet people are so quick to judge others without even knowing them.

Written by 3graffiti

September 26, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, the fact that she is assuming they are violent because they are black is pure ignorant. I’ve found that more people outside of black people actually listen to rap music, and have seen more people outside of blacks become raged or act ignorant over the matter.

    bmax2816

    September 26, 2009 at 11:19 pm

  2. It’s basically a stereotype at work here. That girl may or may not be racist but she is basically equating the media driven image of black to reality. She is also taking something that in general may apply to the entire group and incorrectly applying it to the individual(s). Why she thinks these people are going to blow her off simply because she is white is beyond me though.
    Also, she must not realize all sorts of people listen to rap/ hip-hop, even white people (gasp!). It’s just a genre of music.

    zsayed

    September 26, 2009 at 11:45 pm

  3. I’m Hispanic, I listen to rap/hip-hop. Hip-hop isn’t about if you are black or white. Its whether you can relate to the material being said or not. In my case I can. I’m sure there’s a lot of black people who can’t relate to rap and identify with other genres of music. Good blog.

    dtrincado

    September 27, 2009 at 12:00 am

  4. black people are not the only individuals who listen to rap. I know other people who listen to more rap than I do (I don’t listen to rap at all so everyone else who does listens to a lot more than I do). Another thing to keep in mind is that rap is associated with violence and black people so when you put that together the media really shows that black people who listen to rap are more violent than other black people. I still think its ignorant

    mdjust07

    September 27, 2009 at 12:32 am

  5. I know plenty of people that listen to rap that aren’t black, myself included. The media has a lot to do with this though. They usually paint an image of balcks being violent and that they are the only ones who can relate. People can relate to all types of music or enjoy anything with a good beat or lyrics. Music is universal, yet people still form ideas about who should listen to what.

    brecal

    September 27, 2009 at 3:38 pm

  6. What a perfect example of a typical ignorant individual; I think if we looked up ‘stereotype’ in the dictionary, this would be listed. I hate to think so, but unfortunately, this is more common than we realize- people these days are more likely to react in this manner than in a more positive one.

    alinak88

    September 27, 2009 at 10:58 pm

  7. This is definitely the perfect example of stereotyping. People usually associate rap music and black people. Im black and I listen to a variety of music. Music is an outlet for me. There’s a song out there for every emotion or mood.

    porterd06

    September 28, 2009 at 3:49 am


Leave a Reply

