Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Racist Jokes….Is it bad or good?

with 8 comments

Okay, so I didn’t have a good day yesterday and decided to throw in a comedy DVD to cheer me up. I am sure most of you guys heard of Kat Williams and saw all his comedy videos. I was watching Pimp Chronicles and it got to the part when he talks about you can’t do everything with your white friends and he later on talk about Mexicans. I can never get enough because I find him hilarious but my roommate didn’t find it as funny as I did.
She kind of took offense to it and said that he is Racist.
Does it mean that you’re racist for telling racist jokes or is it harmless fun??
From Katt’s jokes i believe that he does not speak of the majority but what he notice a lot growing up. Although I am not Mexican I can kind of see what his jokes where about and it makes me laugh because most of it is true. His jokes are just true topics that most comedians are scared to talk about because they may feel they will be called racist.
What do you think?
This is a video of some racist jokes..do you find them funny?

Video Contains Some Vulgar Language…..

Written by lc8908

September 21, 2009 at 11:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. **I thought we couldn’t post videos**

    First of all, yes I do think those videos are funny. Secondly, I think more often than not racism is context dependent. These comedians and what not are basically poking fun at racial things people always talk about. Racist jokes employed by comedians aren’t necessarily harmful, but they can be offensive (especially if taken out of context) depending on how it is worded and how it is interpreted by the listener. I personally can tell which jokes or racist or not just by analyzing the word choices and expressions employed by the author but it always isn’t easy. I do believe, however, in comedy some groups such as blacks are more targeted than others groups such as Russians. Nonetheless, I don’t think it’s a bad things to laugh at racial issues especially in the comedic sense because it gives people the opportunity to acknowledge/ express cultural/ ethnic differences.

    zsayed

    September 21, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    • Sorry I didn’t see the first video. Actually just went to Katt Williams one first for some reason and it ended up being the only one I watched. The first video is racist in my opinion. It’s just a mesh of racial stereotypes and misconceptions in a slide show.

      zsayed

      September 26, 2009 at 11:38 pm

  2. I don’t think such jokes are necessary, nor appropriate, even they may allude to something that we all see in our society. Despite the fact that these comments are being made in a joking fashion, they create barriers between people of different races and reiterate racial stereotypes. Racist jokes further alienate different groups of people by suggesting that one group behaves, acts or talks in a way that is far different than another group.

    carlyeg

    September 22, 2009 at 2:04 am

  3. I definitely did not find the jokes funny at all. The second video I thought was pretty funny (and I’m Hispanic). The ending though, with that other guy, was unnecessary. There was no point to his appearance. I felt he just helped perpetuate the racist view of “ghettoness” in the black community.

    erom13

    September 22, 2009 at 4:56 am

  4. I think the first video was completely unnecessary and just perpetuated stereotypes that aren’t universally true of minorities. I think the consistent misspelling indicated that the creator of that video is less than educated, which reinforces the point that education is a big step in ending racism. It was also interesting how the first thing that was pointed out was the “I’M NOT RACIST!!!” introduction.

    The second video was much funnier. I’m a big fan of Katt Williams and I find his stand up to be hilarious. I think what he was saying was more of a response to the things that he had seen growing up. As a Cuban-American, I related with a lot of the comments he made about partying with Spanish people. Additionally, going to college at a predominately White school has given me the opportunity to go to predominately White parties, where all of the things Katt Williams said were fairly accurate.

    dannyramos4

    September 22, 2009 at 5:55 am

  5. I understand why anyone might find the Katt Williams things funny; its entertaining. When it come to anything that might be racist, I tend to be very critical whether it be towards or from black or white people. The things he said about Mexicans was offensive but I’m sure the only reason he said the things he did is because he actually experienced it before (we except for the car thing, 39 people… really?). I also don’t like how much he says nigger. That word always makes me uneasy not matter who uses. But I’m not going to lie, when I hear these jokes I laugh even though I know its wrong. But when I watch white comedians for some reason they make me angry a lot more. I think its because not only are their jokes racist, they’re condescending. Saying that Mexicans party a lot isn’t the same as saying that a Mexican married to a white person is called crackers and beans. It’s just rude. At least there is a level of truth to what Katt Williams says

    laika305

    September 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

  6. I have no comment on the first video … I found the delivery to be unappealing.

    Katt Williams is hilarious, I believe that his jokes have a time and place and that they are certainly not appropriate for all audience. I believe that so long as you know your audience, you are able to push the envelope in order to obtain the desired response. Would I think that he was as funny as I do if Katt were in the middle of a crowded street making the same jokes, probably not. Again, it is all time and place.

    bsmail

    September 24, 2009 at 9:33 pm

  7. I think racist jokes are bad because in the end someone is alwalys going to get hurt. But racist jokes are a big part of comedy so I wonder if racist jokes were not part of comedy how famous would these guys like Kay Williams would be without racist jokes.

    domsangs

    September 25, 2009 at 6:31 pm


Leave a Reply

