Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Racism going Up

with 3 comments

While being on the elevator in the Reitz Union, an elderly white woman saw me as I boarded and stepped to the left side of the elevator and clutched her handbag. I don’t know how I felt about this situation. I was offended but I also laughed at the same time. I don’t look dangerous. I even smiled at her but all she saw was the color of my skin. How do you think I should have felt?

Written by porterd06

September 20, 2009 at 10:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m surprised to hear that this was at the Reitz Union in an elevator. It’s kind of laughable if it wasn’t a racial situation because obviously you’re a student. But, it is sad that she couldn’t look past your skin color and notice your friendly behavior. I think you have a right to be offended but you also have a right to laugh at someone’s ignorance.

    elfrat

    September 20, 2009 at 11:55 pm

  2. I sometimes wonder if this unconscious discrimination will fade away. One can only hope.

    Glad you took humor in it tho…im sure we all face some sort of discrimination at one point. Cant get too mad over it.

    seemenomore123

    September 20, 2009 at 11:57 pm

  3. I’m not surprised by the situation at all. As much as people want to claim they are not racist their simple actions like clutching onto their purse, scream other wise. Its sad that you got a reaction to your skin color like that on campus but its something you shouldn’t take too offensively. There are ignorant people in the world and there’s little anyone could do to change this.

    mzarandy1

    September 21, 2009 at 3:30 am


Leave a Reply

