Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Parents can revert racism?

with 3 comments

http://www.newsweek.com/id/214989/page/2

I thought this was a very interesting article.  There was a study that was done to figure out how parents could revert racism. Children’s racial attitudes can be turned if parents openly talk about race, and not just use the common phrase everyone is equal. If parents talk and make emphasis on interracial friendships, children’s attitudes can be curved for the better.

Written by kherbert09

September 20, 2009 at 4:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I also think this was an interesting article. But I hate to mention it but I did my blog on this article earlier in the week. I dont know if it matters but I thought I would let you know…

    mhenderson108

    September 20, 2009 at 9:40 pm

  2. I think parents often times need help answering difficult questions about racism. For instance, most parents are simply not aware how to deal with the racism issue, and often give a simple answer to their children without explaining why. It seems as though that racism and tolerance is a new concept for most parents. I find that education is often the key to revert racism. I also believe that parents should practice what they preach and actually demonstrate tolerance to their children.

    icet0696

    September 20, 2009 at 10:12 pm

  3. I think the underlying theme here is how idealistic most of us view our parents. Do we see them as fellow human beings? I know personally, i’ve only recently seen true sides from both of my parents. They aren’t perfect. They probably have skewed viewpoints of the world. Parents need to cut the BS and show us their true side. Here is one example.

    seemenomore123

    September 20, 2009 at 11:33 pm


Leave a Reply

