Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

What in the world is going on?

with one comment

Maybe its because I live in my own bubble of joy, happiness and peace in God that I don’t really know what in the world is going on. I finally turn on the tv the other day and there’s all this talk of Obama, his policies and race. Obama has been called a racist. Universal health care seems to a futuristic idea. Man this world is crazy. Our priorities are so screwed up. Anyways enough of my tangents, here’s my actual post: Chapter 3 in Racism Without Racists brought some good points to light in terms of the language we use; how we try to qualify our statements before we say it even though we know what may come out of our mouths. In terms of race, I would have to say that white people are not the only ones who use some of the statements that the author listed. My favorite out of all of them was “some of my best friends are black.” Funny, funny thing when you hear people say that. I’m like “really, are you saying that for me or you?” (this is all in head)! The thing about this statement is that its not mutually exclusive to just one particular group of people using it. I hear it all the time, from black, whites, Hispanic; of course then the  statement would just be “some of my best friends are _____ ” (fill in the blank with whatever race or ethnicity that you want if you must qualify who you are as an individual).

Written by mdjust07

September 19, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think people that use the phrase “some of my best friends are ___” really don’t associate with that group of people because if you had friends that was of a different race you would mention their name prior to even saying what race they are. I know I wouldn’t appreciate it if my friends referred to me as a Hispanic girl. I think there are several other adjectives that can be used to describing the group of friends we have.

    3graffiti

    September 19, 2009 at 8:58 pm


Leave a Reply

