Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Racially motivated actions or something else?

with 4 comments

I have never peronally been the victim of any racial slurs or racially motivated actions.  However, my husband experiences a lot of it.  He comes home angry quite often because he felt that he was the victim of some racial action.  For instance, he came home upset once because he crossed the street and while doing so, he passed a car of white people who locked their car doors upon seeing him approach their direction.  I told him that they could have just as well been taking a precautionary action against a possible theft/assault attemp.  He angrily responded that a white man was a couple of paces in front of him, but the individuals didn’t lock thier car until they say him specifically.  I feel that sometimes, actions that can mean one thing can be taken as racially motivated by others, even when it may not be the case.

Written by Antoinette Lester

September 19, 2009 at 1:18 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Honestly, I believe it was a racially motivated cause, especially if your husband is black or simply dark-skinned. Unfortunately, due to stereotypes, people believe that minorities, especially black males, are more likely to commit crimes. As a result, they are more cautious and suspicious around blacks than they are around whites. Another example that we recently viewed in class demonstrates this idea as well: more people called 911 when black kids were vandalizing a car rather than when white kids were doing the exact same thing. Such a thing can only be racially motivated…

    sgaviria

    September 19, 2009 at 3:14 am

  2. I was in the car last game-day with a couple of friends and we were parked in a parking spot. A black male walked past the car and my friend immediately locked her doors. I asked her why she did that, and she said that it was because she was afraid. I then asked her if she was afraid when the two other white males walked by a couple minutes earlier and she said no. Her explanation was that the white males did not look threatening, but the black male did. Nonetheless to say, neither of the situations were threatening.

    jubol

    September 19, 2009 at 3:57 am

  3. It may have been racially motivated and at the same time it may not. I know that I like to lock my car doors whenever I’m parked somewhere and that’s for precautionary reasons b/c everybody crazy nowadays; race is not my concern, safety is. Certain situations though, you can’t help but wonder and notice that as you’re passing by certain people do certain things.

    mdjust07

    September 19, 2009 at 3:17 pm

  4. That sounds like it could have been racially motivated, however, from experience, I always lock my door whenever someone is approaching my car, black, white, or purple (especially if they’re purple). So if your husband had walked towards my car I would have locked my doors, but I would have done so had he been white.
    This being said I think that many simple actions we witness or participate in can be construed as being racially motivated, even if they’re not. Personally, I blame the media for this.

    kmurph2688

    September 19, 2009 at 10:22 pm


Leave a Reply

