Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Party Stereotypes Hurt Just Like Racist Stereotpes.

with 2 comments

I am conservative and my boyfriend (along with his roommates) is liberal. The other night while driving my boyfriend made a slightly stereotype filled comment which prompted his roommate to say, “We expect the racism out of Katie, she’s conservative.”
I laughed at first, but then I began to ponder on it. Why would racism be a stereotype for conservatism?
Is it because most conservatives are white? Is it because they generally have more money than liberals?
I don’t see how wanting to protect the money I make makes me racist. However I do see over taxing those who make more money in order to pay for welfare programs (that do generally aid minorities) that don’t work as punishing success.
Don’t over tax the wealthy just because you think they have expendable money, and don’t call them racist when they don’t want to let go of the money. They aren’t guilty of racism, at the very least they are guilty of greed.

Written by kmurph2688

September 13, 2009 at 3:20 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As an American, I agree with that viewpoint. Hard work and using opportunities is vital to the success we have enjoyed as a nation. However, when I think about the conditions that created the wealth many people enjoy today (exploiting others) I dont think its necessarily as straightforward as “its my money, go away.” As a human being I believe its our obligation to help people who havent been offered opportunities, or are just failures. Basic necessities for all. As for punishing success- oh no, the republicans have to live with only half a million a year. The horror!

    ahartzog

    September 13, 2009 at 3:27 am

  2. I’m not a conservative at all what so ever, but in such a liberal campus as UF, I’m sure many conservatives feel your pain. They are seen as selfish or egoists. In the end, there is no sound moral argument for compensating for other individuals monetary misfortunes. There should be a pro active, instead of a reactive approach when dealing with such things. In that case, I could definitely see more people agreeing with you if the inherent misfortunes of minorities could be less accentuated in society.

    seemenomore123

    September 13, 2009 at 7:36 pm


Leave a Reply

