Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

NES, Metro face race discrimination suit

leave a comment »

After reading this article from a newspaper called The Tennessean, I wasn’t surprised to see that  racism still living in the world today. Here is a case where twenty black employees and job applicants from the Nashville Electric Service have sued the utility and Metro government and accusing them of a pattern of racial discrimination.

The people that are suing stated that the white co-workers had placed a hangman’s noose around the neck of a dark-skinned dummy at a NES building in September 2007 and the white supervisors would use racial slurs and carry out acts of intimidation toward black employees.

I know that there is racism still living in the world today but it never seems to be a big dilemma in the news coverage. This is article is just one of many small forms of media that gets little attention for what is happening in our communities.  I have seen several instances where this has happened to myself.  When I was younger, I went to a  high school that was in a town known for being rednecks.  When I was in my freshman and sophomore year of high school, I was called some harsh racial slurs by a small group of  white students.  I personally never reported them to any authority figures at my school but I know that several conflicts did occur between several black and white students.

http://www.tennessean.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20090911/NEWS03/909110341

Written by joshjfletch89

September 11, 2009 at 2:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

