Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Name Calling

with 3 comments

I have worked at the Boys and Girls Club for almost three years now. The population of kids that come is almost entirley African American. Something that I have noticed consistently over the years is the prevalence of name calling. I know that this is typical for kids to do, but it is the way that the kids go about making fun of eachother that I find frustrating. Almost always, insults are directed at skin color. Students call each other names like burnt cookie, or black toast, etc. They make jokes about being out in the field for too long. It is something that I have always tried to stop, but never seems to disappear. I wonder where kids get their ideas about skin color. I work with fifth graders right now, but even the kindergarten and first graders call eachother names like this. Are they being told by the media, their parents, siblings, friends, or do they just see it in society?

Written by kellerae

September 11, 2009 at 8:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t believe that younger children are name-calling, dark or light skin colored. They are obviously picking up this type of behavior and actions from adults and the environment around them. If not from the media or family, they are picking up this name-calling from peers, such as the Boys and Girl’s Club. I would hope that teachers and other people of such authority would take measures to prevent this type of unnecessary behavior.

    jubol

    September 12, 2009 at 4:05 pm

  2. I think most kids probably get their name calling ideas from the media and other people they may hear saying those things.I know most racial jokes we may hear on television consists of name calling and insults. I remember a show on tv that consisted of yo momma jokes, most of the jokes were suppose to offend the other person and the common offenses would be racial and sexual jokes. Some of us find those types of jokes funny but we don’t go saying it to other people, but kids do not understand why something funny for one person can be offensive to another.

    3graffiti

    September 12, 2009 at 5:14 pm

  3. I believe the kids get it from the enviroment they grew up in and from adults. It has been engraved into our society and culture that racial name calling is ok. And by ok i mean, that adults in the entertainment industry make these comments and we find them funny, yet we dont repeat them but because we dont show disapproval kids believe it is ok, though it is not. I remember when i was in elementary school, I was one of the few lighter skin black children, and to pick on me, the darker skin kids would call me whitey or white girl, and I would pick back by calling them tar babies or daarkie. I know I learned it from somewhere but I’m not sure where I’ve learned them names from. I had the same name calling experience when I got into middle school, I went from white to “high yella” and it frustrated me so much.

    kherbert09

    September 13, 2009 at 12:52 am


Leave a Reply

