Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Intention or Coincidence?

with 5 comments

Every day as I pass through to the Reitz, I always pass by people who always try to give me colored flyers and coupon books. I noticed though, that some people that passed out the flyers seemed selective; they would give a flyer to a person that was literally two steps ahead of me, but never bothered to ask me if I wanted one. I wasn’t sure what to think. Did these people skip me just coincidently because they were tired of handing out the flyers? Or did they look at me and immediately assume to themselves that I didn’t want one? Was this ultimately a race issue?

Written by aunanan7

September 11, 2009 at 3:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was passing through the Reitz and I had a girl go out of her way to give me some flower about dancing some step/dance team. I was like “whoa.” The girl handing out the flier was non-black so it made me say to myself: “did she go out of her way because I’m black and assumes that I can dance and step.”
    Also with the fliers, I thinking the people who are tabling choose who they want to give it to depending on what organization/event they are tabling for. I think that they do hand them out to people because of apperance

    mdjust07

    September 12, 2009 at 3:33 pm

  2. If I was handing out fliers I wouldn’t be selective based on appearance. It’s not fair and very inaccurate to judge if you should hand out a piece of paper to someone based on their appearance-you don’t know their background or what their story is. I interned in NYC this past summer and there probably two people per corner handing out fliers. Some days I would be approached with papers, other days, none at all. I think it is merely just convenience and attitude of the person handing out the papers, it almost seems as thought it would be too difficult and waste of time to try and read someone before you decide if it’s worth handing a flier to them. Days where I was speed-walking with an obvious place to be I wasn’t approached as much, as compared to other days when I would be casually walking. I don’t think it’s in issue to over-analyze.

    jubol

    September 12, 2009 at 4:13 pm

  3. I don’t think handing out fliers to people is a race issue, sometimes when a person looks busy on a cell phone or listening to an ipod the person handing out fliers may assume they may not be interested because they are occupied doing something else. I think if you were really interested in the flier or coupon book that was being handed out you could have easily just stood there and he/she would of known to hand you one.

    3graffiti

    September 12, 2009 at 5:04 pm

  4. I’d say its random for the most part. We are in a very liberal bubble on campus at uf, who tend to have less prejudice based on race or gender. It happens to everyone on and off passing to some and not others.

    al260513

    September 12, 2009 at 8:37 pm

  5. Personally, I think that handing out flyers depends upon the expression that people have on their face. If someone looks angry, they are probably less likely to get handed a flyer as they look like they do not want to be bothered.

    However, I have handed out flyers in Turlington trying to recruit for Florida Crew (Rowing)), and for those types of organizations, we do try to hand out flyers to people that we think would want to join our team or that we think would be good at the sport.

    victorianelson

    September 14, 2009 at 1:36 am


Leave a Reply

