Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

“Your Baby is Racist”

with 5 comments

Last week, a video clip was shown in class that included a short piece on a study that was conducted on children and racial preference. Children were asked whether they preferred the black doll, or the white doll, then were asked to explain why. Seeing this clip encouraged me to think about children, or school-aged kids and ask when they come aware of racial differences. The following article speaks to this notion.

http://slatest.slate.com/id/2227537/entry/3

I agree with the article, in that by keeping silent, parents may perhaps do more harm than good. Even if children don’t discuss racial relations with their parents, they are likely to be categorizing people by race, from a young age. Consequently, it is important that parents engage in discussions on these topics with their children, in order to raise awareness. Furthermore, it is essential that parents do not force any racially-driven behaviors or attitudes on their children.

Written by carlyeg

September 8, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with your response to this article. I feel that today in our society we have somewhat lost the notion that parents and upbringing have a substantial impact on our adult lives. It should be the role of the parent and also teachers to inform young children about all of the various aspects of life.

    rhenf1989

    September 8, 2009 at 10:11 pm

  2. I really agree with the response to this article. I think that parent have to intervene when comes with racism. If I was a parent, I would tell my child that there is no such thing as white or black; we are all the same.

    badal23

    September 9, 2009 at 12:41 am

  3. I hate repeating with what people say but i do agree with this response. I see the downfall in our children being what they are watching on tv! Children are watching more nasty and degreating shows on channels like BET and think that what they see is ok. OR they are watching movies that play down their race and make them feel inferior. We need to closely monitor our children more! We can’t let them grow up confused about who they are or how they THINK they should be acting.

    bmax2816

    September 9, 2009 at 5:09 pm

  4. I definitely agree with the responses given to this article. More so, I can relate to the whole “parents talking to your children about race” aspect of it. Prime example, My boyfriend is black. One day my little 8 year old brother made a blunt comment saying “Oh man haha I can’t believe she’s in love with a black man,” and my mom just sat there and started chuckling. It put me in the most uncomfortable feeling because my mom didn’t set a good example for herself or for my clueless little brother. Now I feel like he’s going to grow up seeing differences in black or white in some points in his life.

    aunanan7

    September 11, 2009 at 2:32 am

  5. You know I have seen this study done before. Funny,I am african american and when I was younger my mother taught me millions of time about racial issues.. If I was given both dolls, I would have picked the black doll as being the nice one, but really inside I would be thinking the white one also.. It’s not just what our parents teach us, It is what the society teaches us also… when we look in prisons we see black faces, but when we look at colleges, we see white faces… when we think of poverty,black images fill our imagination, but when we think of great wealth we imagin white faces. Kids only go by what they see..

    beatitkid

    March 27, 2010 at 11:36 pm


Leave a Reply

