Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

Why are certain majors and sports segregated?

with 5 comments

Ive been noticing alot how certain sports and majors are lacking in diversity. My own major Geology for instance is one of them, first of all most of my professors are White, with the exception of an Asian professor, and so far I have only seen one African American in my classes, this is kinda disturbing, and was wondering if this is the case in other majors as well. Also the same goes for certain sports. I am on the crew team here at UF and there is not one African American on the team, and after attending several races I have yet to see one on the teams we race against. I was wondering why, and a fellow teammate said that he has seen a couple on the teams in the past, but they usually got stares by the other rowers. I find this to be slightly disturbing and goes along with my other observations about the lack of African American professors here at this school, which seems to have an oversupply of White and Asian professors, if anyone can explain this, it would be most helpful.

Written by matthewcel

March 19, 2010 at 2:32 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not just White and Asian but Middle Eastern as well. In the end the school is technichally still diverse, but just missing Black professors. No its not good at all. Especially in majors like Anthropology and sociology. Its almost a joke going over the African American issues and origins of race and never hearing it taught from the side of a person/professor who can relate.

    ineeduf

    March 19, 2010 at 4:08 am

  2. As an Education major, I see very little diversity in the classes that I’ve taken and have to taken. The College of Ed. seems to be primarily made up of the blonde/brunette middle class female. I think there was maybe 4 guys in all the classes I’ve taken there and possibly 2 African Americans.

    Needless to say, taking this class and my other classes that are not associated with the COE, I’ve been able to be exposed to what “college” really is and how diverse it can be.

    melp8

    March 19, 2010 at 10:39 am

  3. relating to sports, I think in my opinion there are certain sports that are labels as black people sports and white people sports so I don’t think the lack of diversity in sports has a lot to do with race, but more along the line of the sports that are seen fit for blacks and for whites or any other races for that matter.

    jobyjob

    March 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm

  4. I think with the sports issue is that it goes down to what the person is interested in, I guess that crew is not a popular sport amongst the minority contingency. I agree that there are a shortage of african-american professors here at UF, I cannot recall a class that I have had with a professor who wasn’t white or Asian. Not that having them is a bad thing but a little diversity doesn’t hurt.

    mato89

    March 20, 2010 at 8:04 pm

  5. I think that you’re looking at this the wrong way and that segregated is not the right word. Participating in a major or sports team has absolutely nothing to do with race and everything to do with choice. Just because you don’t see more than a handful of black students in your major classes doesn’t mean the major is lacking in diversity. You’re taking between 4-7 classes, classes that are specifically during a time of day and in this semester. You’re not in all the classes and every period your major has to offer.

    devaio24

    March 20, 2010 at 11:00 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

