Perspectives on Race

A Discussion about Events Concerning Race

RACES/GREEKS/MIXING

with 2 comments

Despite it being somewhat rare I actually really like to see when there are other races in primarily black or white organization. There are multicultural greek organizations that support this but when I see a person of a different race in a national black greek organization I think it just shows more power in the group. It means that person felt that organization was good enough or meant enough to them that they could realte and want to pledge a lifetime of sisterhood/brotherhood to that group. I know some people get offended but I think they should look at it in another perspective.

Written by ineeduf

March 19, 2010 at 4:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This spring semester, I got a bid to pledge at a fraternity who is predominantly white and that same night I got on snap to go home and this girl asked me and I quote, ” why are you pledging a white fraternity?” I look at her as if she was stupid and didn’t not say anything. I wanted to pledge in the fraternity because I like what they do and the fact that they were all white was not even a problem for me.

    jobyjob

    March 19, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  2. That’s an interesting story because I thought that most were very exclusive and made it hard for unlike people to join. I agree that a person should look at the fraternity/sorority’s ideals and judge whether they want to join and not base it largely on the racial makeup.

    mato89

    March 20, 2010 at 7:59 pm


Leave a comment